Publication: Helsinki Process, Velvet Revolution of 1989 and the Czech Transformation: Lessons for Korean Peninsula?

The Prague Centre for Transatlantic Relations of the CEVRO Institute (PCTR), with the support of the Korea Foundation, realized in the academic year 2014/2015 the project „Czechoslovakia Transition to Democracy: Recommendations for the North Korea Peace-seeking Process“. One of the aims of this project was to develop a monograph with active participation of selected experts. The publication is now available in PDF format and can be downloaded for free.

The authors are Assoc. Prof. Stanislav Balík, the Head of Department of Political Science, Faculty of Social Studies at Masaryk University; Tomáš Pojar, the Vice President for International Relations at the CEVRO Institute and the former Ambassador of the Czech Republic to the State of Israel; Dr. Ivo Pospíšil, the Secretary General of the Constitutional Court of the Czech Republic; political geographer Dr. Michael Romancov; economist  Dr. Dušan Tříška; Michal Vodrážka, research fellow at the Association for International Affairs; and Dr. Alexandr Vondra, the PCTR Director and the former Minister of Defense and the former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.

Thanks are also due to the Embassy of the Republic of Korea in Prague for their kind support of the project. A physical copy of the publication can be obtained (for free) at the CEVRO Institute‘s library (Jungmannova 17, Prague 1).

Content of the publication:

  1. Alexandr Vondra: Introduction
  2. Michael Romancov: Helsinki Process, Fall of Iron Curtain and Geopolitical Framework
  3. Alexandr Vondra: Helsinki Accords and Velvet Revolutions of 1989
  4. Stanislav Balík: Democratisation in Czechoslovakia
  5. Dušan Tříska: Institutional Change of the Czech Republic
  6. Ivo Pospíšil: Legal System and Judiciary
  7. Tomáš Pojar: Transformation and the Role and Limits of Foreign Assistance
  8. Michal Vodrážka: On the Importance of Building (and Planning) Bridges
  9. Summary
  10. List of authors